Trance music artist Chicane released his highly-anticipated eighth studio album, Everything We Had To Leave Behind, which is available to stream/download now via Armada Music.

Opening with celestial vibes with the album’s title track, Everything We Had To Leave Behind is a euphoric 14-track sonic journey cohesively delivered.  From hair-raising synths to gorgeous angelic vocals, the LP traverses between trance rhythms and melodic vibes, making it an enchanting work of art.  With an uplifting message to enjoy the simple pleasures in life, the album soars to new heights with each of its joyous releases.

“‘Everything We Had to Leave Behind’ didn’t have a title when I started making it. We didn’t have a pandemic, just. It was obvious but somewhat unreal as the substance of everyone’s life changed. Live shows went. That was very immediate and a shock to the system. Human interaction was reduced. I couldn’t not be affected by that, like everyone. I started working with Joseph Aquilina, with him singing in Maltese, a language I had no knowledge of but somehow seemed comforting. It was sound and uplifting, so uplifting became the direction for me once the title came. There had to be a positive against all the negative.

There is so much excess in parts of the world, so it was about leaving behind that excess and commercialism, about taking stock of what we need instead of what we want. I’ve never wanted to come across as some preachy kind of person but making the album made me realize everything we had to leave behind. It was a reset, a catharsis, for me, both musically and in my outlook on the future.”


Nicholas Bracegirdle, known artistically as Chicane, is a British musician, composer, songwriter, and record producer who emerged onto the scene in 1997 with his seminal trance album Far from the Maddening Crowds.  Since then he has worked with the likes of trance heavyweights Ferry Corsten and Armand van Buuren and was signed to Armada Music in 2012.

Chicane – Everything We Had To Leave Behind

  1. Everything We Had To Leave Behind (feat. Joseph Aquilina)
  2. 8 (Circle)
  3. Capricorn
  4. Never Look Back
  5. Sailing
  6. Don’t Look Down
  7. One Foot In The Past, One Foot In The Future
  8. 1000 More Suns (feat. Joseph Aquilina)
  9. Juno
  10. Make You Stay
  11. Now Or Never
  12. An Ocean Apart
  13. Make You Stay (Back Pedal Brakes Remix)
  14. Hello, Goodbye